knitting round-up

03.2017_emmett with knitting

On a bit of a whim, I decided to felt the two pairs of mittens I’ve finished this winter, because both pairs are a little big. The first pair was a learning experience because I didn’t use a smaller size needle for the cuffs, and the second pair was made of alpaca mill ends that I thought might look more “finished” if they were felted. Both are cozy, but just a little bit floppy and ungainly for comfort.

The first pair turned out, but the alpaca mill ends didn’t fare so well. Some of the yarn weight was very inconsistent, going from bulky to super-fine, and unfortunately the super-fine bits just didn’t hold up in the felting process.

Grr!!!! But live and learn.

 

03.2017_felted mitten

the ones that survived the felting

I’m currently trying out a pair of worsted-weight socks with a pattern by Susan B. Anderson. This has been my “knitting at gymnastics” project for awhile now (I get my best knitting done at Miss L’s 1.5 hour gymnastics class). I didn’t really gauge it so the first one came off the needles baggy, with sort of elephantine ankles, but I think that will be okay for winter – I can wear a pair under them and have them be sort of slipper-type socks. The pattern is a little confusing because it’s modified from her sock-yarn pattern and you have to keep flipping back and forth between the two patterns because she is prone to say things like “continue in original pattern”. But we shall see. I’m using a very inexpensive craft store yarn which is satisfyingly glossy and soft.After these, I’m starting up another pair of traditional woolen handknits because during my power outage, I wore my old Jaywalkers for three straight days and never had cold feet once. Emergency Socks are good to have.

Upon seeing my pink hat, knitted for the Women’s March in January, Miss L promptly wanted one of her own. I was a little reluctant to knit her a pink one, because it’s been so politicized, so I made her one in pale grey and lined it with a bit of leftover flannel I had.

03.2017_lily flat hat 3

03.2017_lily flat hat 1

I’m no seamstress but I figured people rarely look inside hats so my sloppy stitching job would be safely hidden. 

Miss L is a Girl Scout and part of our annual responsibility is hocking cookies for a couple of hours at a grocery store booth. This usually consists of the Scouts horsing around, rapidly becoming unfocused, complaining that they are hungry / tired / have to go to the bathroom / insert random grievance here while the moms scramble to keep them from freaking out and sell the cookies at the same time. However, when a dignified older lady wearing her Sunday best stopped to purchase a box of Thin Mints, I noticed her shawl and asked if it was handknit. It was, she said beaming, and we discussed how handknits are immediately discernible to a fellow knitter. Quite precious. Her pattern was the Papillon. I’m not a shawl wearer but if I were, I’d be queuing that.

Otherwise, I’m watching Outlander for the knits and the scenery. Jamie is acceptable but the actress who plays Claire is too arch and fragile and prickly. She always seems inexplicably mad at either Jamie or Frank and this is annoying. But her wristwarmers and cowl? To die for.

03.2017_floppy socks and outlander

And here you get a gratuitous picture of the exceptionally floppy worsted weight sock AND a screenshot of Jamie from Outlander in the background, brandishing a sword manfully.

 

Leave a Reply

