you belong with me

Miss L was less than thrilled to wake up early on a ‘stay home day’ (“Mommy, is it the middle of the night??” she asked groggily when I roused her). But by the time we were in the car and she was eating her breakfast PB&J toast sandwich and drinking milk out of her Thermos, she was ready to go and be of service as a volunteer at a local charitable 5k race.

We agreed that you see many, many beautiful moments when you wake up early.

09.2014 sunrise

All day long, she kept singing, ‘You belong with me, you’re my sweetheart’.

09.2014 my sweetheart

After we cheered on the 5k runners, we got our yardwork and grocery shopping and some chores done, and it was a productive and happy day. Nonetheless, my sweetheart and I are very happy that tomorrow morning we get to sleep in.

Leave a Reply

