tchaikovsky and poirot

Everyone is much happier with sunshine and milder temps today, including the Northern yellow-shafted flicker who visits us occasionally. I think his mustaches make him look like Hercule Poirot.

01.2014 northern yellow shafted flicker collageI think 2014 will be a good year for trying new things and expanding my horizons. I started last night with my first trip to the symphony. I’m not such a huge Tchaikovsky fan, I decided, but I loved the experience of live classical music and am looking forward to more such trips.  I liked getting dressed up and watching the musicians utterly absorbed in their craft, the energy of the conductor, the way the harpist held her wrist, and the fidgety second violinist who kept yawning and stretching his long legs and flicking imaginary bits of fluff off his tuxedo.

01.2014 symphony

